Defining damage

You use the Edit Material dialog box to specify material damage initiation criteria and associated damage evolution. Once an initiation criterion is met, Abaqus applies the associated damage evolution law to determine the material degradation. You can specify the following types of damage in Abaqus/CAE:

  • Ductile

  • FLD

  • FLSD

  • Johnson-Cook

  • Maxe or Quade

  • Maxs or Quads

  • Maxps or Maxpe

  • M-K


  • Shear

  • Hashin

  • Mullins Effect

You can define multiple damage initiation criteria and damage evolution models to accurately represent the behavior of a material. When a damage initiation criterion is met, material damage has begun. Abaqus uses the damage evolution definition associated with the initiation criterion to evaluate the extent of the damage. If you do not define damage evolution, Abaqus continues to evaluate the damage initiation criterion to provide an indication of the extent to which the analysis has exceeded the initiation point.

In addition to damage initiation and evolution, Abaqus/Standard uses a viscous regularization scheme to improve convergence as fiber-reinforced composite materials (Hashin damage model) are damaged.

For more information on material damage, see Progressive Damage and Failure.

In this section:

Ductile damage
Forming limit diagram (FLD) damage
Forming limit stress diagram (FLSD) damage
Johnson-Cook damage
Maximum or quadratic nominal strain damage
Maximum or quadratic nominal stress damage
Maximum principal stress or strain damage
Marciniak-Kuczynski (M-K) damage
M├╝schenborn-Sonne forming limit diagram (MSFLD) damage
Shear damage
Hashin damage
Mullins effect
Damage evolution
Damage stabilization